Skip to content

Paraclete

September 7, 2006

Paraclete
i need fire,
to be inspired
i am overwhelmed,
yes and I am tired
to do the tasks of day to day
i’ve exhausted all the platitudes
the ones you gave to me
i need fire

i need truth,
for i am a liar
easily convince myself
to obfuscate desires
that come from God,
i do not trust
i will get just what i want
instead of what i must
i need truth
i need fire

i need breath
to fill my lungs
i’m winded from the consequence
of all that’s come undone
clear my head, feed my legs
oxygen and spirit
wake me from the dead
i need breath
i need truth
i need fire

Tim Youmans

Came across this poem/lyrics on the blog– anabaptist monk. May breath, truth, and fire come to us today.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. keith permalink
    September 7, 2006 5:35 pm

    Hey Brian- i enjoyed the prayer.
    wanted to let you know that you can access my stuff at http://www.questiontheeasy.blogspot.com
    peace to you today, brother!

  2. Brian Miller permalink
    September 7, 2006 5:50 pm

    Thanks Keith,
    Enjoyed our conversation over lunch…look forward to checking out your blog.

  3. Tim Sean permalink
    September 11, 2006 2:17 pm

    Brian. Thanks for posting this text at your site. I’ve stopped by a few times and think we would make fantastic friends, particurally because you’re promoting my poetry…Ha!

    Are you a graduate of OBU? I only ask because you spent some time in Oklahoma. I’m not assuming any Mennonite would go to OBU, just curious.

    Be well and peace for all of us.

  4. Brian Miller permalink
    November 8, 2006 12:41 am

    Tim,
    I’m not sure if ever responded to your question. Anyway, I did not go to OBU.

    Brian

Leave a Reply

