Skip to content

Protestant vs. Catholic heaven

October 12, 2006

First a disclaimer. I have never been an apologist for The Simpsons. In fact, I have never even watched one episode. If anything, my view would be that The Simpsons have had a negative impact on our culture. Nevertheless they represent an influential media phenomenon.

I found this bit of pop-culture theologizing to be interesting. For what it is worth (probably not much)–here is The Simpsons take on Protestant vs. Catholic heaven.

Anyone want to do a little cultural exegesis?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Dwight Longenecker permalink
    October 13, 2006 12:34 am

    Terrific! The Catholics living life to the full and the Protestants in a country club…I love it, and have linked to it on my blog.

  2. Gecko Girl permalink
    October 13, 2006 2:04 am

    Anyone know the trick to getting the clip to run? I downloaded 2 different Adobe video things and I still get the message that I either have JavaScript turned off (which I have no idea how to know if I do or don’t) or need to download something. Or do I need to log-on to youtube???

  3. Gecko Girl permalink
    October 13, 2006 2:13 am

    By the way, an excellent Bible professor my husband and I had in college used to use the Simpsons a lot in his ethics and apologetics courses. Those were the only episodes I think I really ever watched. Maybe our prof would say that the Simpsons have had a negative impact on our society, but I suspect he would be more apt to say the Simpsons are a window into the mentality embedded within in our culture???

  4. Brian Miller permalink
    October 13, 2006 9:23 am

    Perhaps registering with youtube (free) is the key to being able to run clips. Not sure.

  5. Ted Gossard permalink
    October 13, 2006 9:54 am

    ha ha, Brian. There is some truth there.

  6. Dwight Longenecker permalink
    October 13, 2006 10:21 am

    gecko girl. You have to run out and buy a new computer…

  7. Anonymous permalink
    October 15, 2006 10:34 pm

    Do you suppose that the Mennonite heaven would have dancing? It looks like the Catholics are having a whole lot more fun!

    Audrey

  8. phillywalker permalink
    October 23, 2006 12:54 am

    The Simpsons is a terrific show. People who decry it simply haven’t watched it.

    This is a great send-up of the stereotype of Catholics as drinking, gambling, fun-loving sinners and Protestants as tight-laced conservatives. I don’t think there is much truth in the stereotype, but it’s a perfect capture of it.

Leave a Reply

