Skip to content

Girl on a Tractor…

February 6, 2007

I knew the names of all the cows before

I knew my alphabet, but no matter the

subject; I had mastery of it, and when

it came time to help in the fields, I

learned to drive a tractor at just the right

speed, so that two men, walking

on either side of the moving wagon

could each lift a bale, walk towards

the steadily arriving platform and

simultaneously hoist the hay onto

the rack, walk to the next bale, lift,

turn, and find me there, exactly where

I should be, my hand on the throttle,

carefully measuring out the pace.

Joyce Sutphen

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gecko Girl permalink
    February 7, 2007 7:58 pm

    I am assuming this could have been true of Heather’s family, but you? :-)

    Such nice and happy pictures of Mackenzie and your mother-in-law.

  2. Brian Miller permalink
    February 7, 2007 9:29 pm

    This poem was read by my brother-in-law, Ryan Loewer at the memorial service for his mother (my mother-in-law). He connected the words and images of the poem to his images and memories of Onietta.

    I posted it because I was thinking about her today.

    I was thinking about her, about women, about gender, about language….

  3. Gecko Girl permalink
    February 7, 2007 9:29 pm

    How beautiful . . . may you have beautiful thoughts and memories!

Leave a Reply

