Skip to content

How show we then blog…

August 20, 2007

howshallwethenblog-tm_1.jpg

Andrew Jones offers some interesting thoughts on the spirituality of blogging.  I suppose is see some truth in these ideas.  I believe that like our three-dimensional social interactions, we create a voice that reflects things about us that we choose to reveal (and also probably things that are hidden to us).  Since the spiritual dimension is a part of what it means to be human, there is a sense in which blogging will reflect the state or color of our spirituality.  There is a sense in which it is also a discipline.  I have been sinking into the three-dimentional, living color, face to face (and facebook) warp and woof of community. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2007 11:37 pm

    Interesting ideas… I really haven’t thought much about blogging as it applies to faith, other than just one more way to communicate.

    Thanks for posting it.

  2. August 24, 2007 9:36 pm

    Thanks. I think most bloggers like to communicate verbally, and it’s a big part of who they are. It certainly has its place, though we need the face to face, fully human encounters.

    Often we end up, in life, fellowshipping with those who like to think and converse, as we do. But most often life is made up of being with people who are not like us. This is an important element for us to learn to live well in. I think I’m learning it gradually. Just to relax and enjoy and try to get into the flow of what’s there, and add my own unique contribution to it, as well as enjoy the contribution of others, all over time- not every time.

  3. just an apprentice permalink
    August 24, 2007 9:52 pm

    Ted,
    I really appreciate your comments above. I do think that there is also somewhat of a cultural phenomenon that is perhaps more fully expressed by the facebook effect (see recent Newsweek cover story).

    I appreciate your point about the importance of face to face, fully human encounters–so that we learn to live well…with all kinds of people.

    Perhaps that is why I am reticent (at times) to express my voice through blogging. This type of voicecasting tends to be one way. Although there are those brave souls (is it braveness or merely a certain personality type?) like yourself who enter the space and join the conversation. I am more fully human when I hear my voice in the midst of the polyphonic strains of my face to face community.

    So, I find that there is an ebb and flow, a proliferation of words and a scarcity. This too is good. I probably would not draw such a close relationship between blogging and spiritual discipline as does Andrew Jones–but perhaps it does serve in some way as a circuit training for the soul.

Leave a Reply

