Skip to content

Theological worldview…

August 24, 2007

p4020038.jpg

What is your theological worldview?  (Thanks Audrey)

 I took the quiz.  I think my top five were…

 1.  Roman Catholic  (74%)

2.  Holiness/Wesleyan (71%)

3.  Neo-orthodox (68%)

4.  Postmodern/Emergent (61%)

5.  Charismatic/Pentecostal (46%)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dawn permalink
    August 26, 2007 11:19 pm

    how is it possible to be so much of a mix in views? . . . seems like quite a jump from one to the other

  2. just an apprentice permalink
    August 27, 2007 1:27 am

    I think it speaks of the way we (as human beings) do not necessarily fit nicely and neatly into certain labels. We have experiences that shape us from a variety of contexts (theologically, socially, culturally, etc.) I’m not sure you can really read the tool too specifically. Like…”I’m 74% RC in my theological views. However, there is probably some elements of each of these streams that overlap with my personal convictions and formations.

    Did you take the quiz?

  3. dawn permalink
    August 27, 2007 4:10 am

    yes, but i’m not sure what it really means — and it is funny how life can come full circle. I was technically baptized and first a member in a United Methodist church but very strongly influence by my Mennonite education. And at one point in my life I suspect I might have scored higher in the Charismatic/Pentecostal.

    I think you are right about our experiences shaping us, in fact I was thinking that it seems the further we go along on life’s journey, the more exposure we get to new ideas and the broader our understanding becomes (some might label it as greater tolerance). Not sure if that’s a good thing or not, but probably contributes to my post-modern leanings :-)

    Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan 82%
    Emergent/Postmodern 79%
    Roman Catholic 57%
    Neo orthodox 50%
    Charismatic/Pentecostal 43%
    Classical Liberal 39%
    Modern Liberal 36%
    Reformed Evangelical 32%
    Fundamentalist 32%

Leave a Reply

