Skip to content

Seek ye first…

November 20, 2007

shaneclaiborne3.jpgShane Claiborne, of the Simple Way community, was in Baghdad while American forces were carrying out the “shock and awe” attacks during March of 2003.  When asked if he was a traitor, he responded with the following:

• “If this bloody, counterfeit liberation is American… I am proud to be Un-American.
• If depleted uranium is American… I am proud to be Un-American.
• If US sanctions are American… I am proud to be Un-American.
• If the imposed “peace” of Pax Americana is American… I am proud to be Un-American.

• If grace, humility, and nonviolence are American… I am proud to be American.
• If global democracy is American… I am proud to be American.
• If sharing to create a safe, sustainable world is American… I am proud to be American.
• If loving our enemies is American… I am proud to be American.

• I would die for the people of New York but I will not kill for them… my Kingdom is not of this world.
• I would die for the people of Baghdad but I will not kill for them… my Kingdom is not of this world.
• I will stand in the way of terror and war… my Kingdom is not of this world.
• I will pledge an allegiance deeper than nationalism, to my God and to my Family… my Kingdom is not of this world.
• I will use my life to shout, “Another world is possible”… for my Kingdom is from another Place.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2007 11:03 pm

    that is moving. what a powerful statement. especially with U2 playing in the background.

  2. alex permalink
    April 21, 2008 11:06 am

    that is moving and I also agree with shane. I wish that everyone could see the world like shane. Maybe he should run for president then change the world that way. I would vote for him. If he could change the world and peoples minds without being president imagine what hecould do if he was president.Go Shane eveyone that I know that went and saw him, they all love him.

Trackbacks

  1. Thank God for America! « Khanya

Leave a Reply

