Skip to content

Creating a missional order…

February 21, 2008

cultivate_button.jpgIn a number of settings recently at SMC, I have been asked about vision for church as a missional community (I am particularly thinking of Melissa’s questions).  I feel like I have not yet done justice to answering these questions. It involves a radical re-imagining of church. It doesn’t mean we change the center from historic Christianity, but it does mean a radical re-orientation from the Christendom, capitalist, individualistic expressions we have seen in North America. I think this 14 minute talk by David Fitch addresses some of these hopes and dreams for the church as a missional community.

In January I got together with some pastors in this area who are interested in talking about what a missional order might look like.  This group included Mennonites and a Lutheran pastor.  In a post-Christendom context, I find this kind of thinking increasingly important.   What would happen if a Christian community embraced this paradigm?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 21, 2008 10:35 pm

    Wow! This is exactly what I’ve been trying to think through over the last year . . . I didn’t realize that was what missional order really meant (hadn’t taken the time to read enough about it I guess). Thanks for the link to Fitch’s video.

Leave a Reply

