Skip to content

Change…

July 8, 2008
Someone asked me how they could pray for me as I transition into the role of lead pastor at SMC.  As I (and my family) have taken this leap of faith, it has meant so much to know that people are praying for us.  Here is a short list that I came up with for how people might pray for me:

1. That I would always see and relate to others as Jesus would.

2. That I would have grace, patience and love for the church and for all people.

3. That I would be merciful with others, just as God in Jesus Christ has been merciful with me.

4. That I might be given grace to speak clearly, listen well, and laugh a lot.

5. That I would remember that it’s Jesus’ church, I am just called to be faithful in the little things.

6.  That I might be able to recognize my limits and not try to do everything.

7.  That I would be present with my family as a husband and a father, never taking for granted my calling in our household. 

8.  That my imagination and living would not be defined by the Powers…the spirit of the age.  Rather, that I would be equipped by the Holy Spirit to live into a different reality–the Gospel of the Kingdom…the Story of the redemption of all things made visible in Jesus Christ and all who follow in his way.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2008 9:01 pm

    Good requests.

    Blessings on you and yours in this new endeavor.

  2. just an apprentice permalink
    July 9, 2008 10:05 pm

    Ted,
    Thanks!
    Brian

  3. July 11, 2008 10:06 am

    My prayers are with you and your family. Will we be seeing you @ convention in ’09?

  4. just an apprentice permalink
    July 11, 2008 3:28 pm

    Thanks Joe. There is a good possibility I will be at Columbus.

  5. July 12, 2008 2:57 pm

    Thanks for the list – good prayer points for us all, actually!

    And, not to trivialize the seriousness of your post, but I’m glad I took the extra moment to enlarge the picture . . . turtles are such funny animals, can be interesting to watch . . . love the picture.

Leave a Reply

