Skip to content

God’s Facebook status

August 2, 2009

In the beginning the earth was formless and void
And God’s Facebook status had not changed in years
Then dust became a soothing sip
of coffee on the way
to build the great civilization
or at least work the status angle
within the ant colony enterprise
of my language world

Then…unto us a child is born
into the squalid slums I don’t pass
on the road into my dreams
God’s Facebook status changes to
indwelling the human condition
and I receive him not
on the flat screen that pulses plasma colors
into the living room of my consciousness
bringing freedom and justice for all

At that moment the cock crowed
I hit the snooze and
went back to sleep
living the dream of God helps
those who help themselves
to a second helping of apple pie

But tomorrow is another day and
God’s Facebook status should change again
when the sun rises on
the lilies of the field
in my backyard

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dawn permalink
    August 2, 2009 1:35 pm

    this is really good, Brian. Is this your own artistic creation? very powerful.

  2. Judy Hawryluk permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:39 pm

    Ah! Common ground – you write & I read :) I like the freedom without punctuation, and perhaps a play on words? I concluded, after a cup of coffee, that it was insightful, if my punctuation was correct.

Leave a Reply

